Project

The mystical radio telescope is a parabola depicting "Epiphany" and is composed of ceramic pieces cut by laser. A steel gnomon stands in the middle.

The monument was designed by Philippe Lejeune: French painter born 15th November 1924 in Montrouge, France. Founder of the Art school in Etampes; accorded the title "Peintre de Armée de terre" (Painter of the French Army) in 1995 and "Chevalier de la legion d´honneur" (Knight of the Legion of Honor) in 2006.

The mystical radio telescope
A semi-circular wall rises out of the ground. The picture "Epiphany" is mounted onto this parabolic surface and looks like a large placard. "Epiphany" is more or less a billboard advertisement. Thanks to the use of this advertising technique, the message is insistent and ever present. We can understand the picture as Advent; that is to say, a perpetual advertising campaign for the everlasting election.
Prayers which represent the liturgy of man are engraved on the back of the parabola. Three contemporary effects are thus used:
Advertisement conveyance information technology
In the form of a billboard floor inscriptions - and lighting effects.

Epiphany, above ground level, is accessible to the beholder via three steps, that is to say: via human dignity, freedom and truth, comparable with the pilgrimage of the Magi.

The location
The "Monument to Freedom of Religion and Belief as a Basis of Peace" has been erected at the Monastery of Heiligenkreuz in the Vienna Woods (Lower Austria) on a piece of open ground in front of the Baden Gate. The Monastery of Heiligenkreuz is an active Cistercian abbey founded in 1133 by St. Leopold. It attracted a great deal of media attention in 2007 due to a Papal visit as well as a visit by Oscar prizewinner Florian Henckel von Donnersmarck. In 2008, the monastery stormed the international charts with its Gregorian Choral «Chant».

Ex Umbris et imaginibus in Veritatem "Out of shadows and phantasms into the truth" - the inscription on John Henry Newmans (1801-1890) memorial stone.
On Sunday, 4th October 2009, the monument was blessed. After the blessing, the assembled guests were invited to a talk by Prince Gundakar von und zu Liechtenstein, Auxiliary Bishop Dr. Andreas Laun and Abbott Gregor Ulrich Henckel Donnersmarck. This was followed by a discussion.


Gallery

Projekt

Das mystische Radioteleskop ist ein Parabol, welches "Epiphanie" darstellt und aus lasergeschnittenen Keramikteilen besteht. In der Mitte steht ein Gnomon aus Metall.

Das Denkmal wurde von Philippe Lejeune entworfen:
Französischer Maler, geboren am 15. November 1924 in Montrouge, Frankreich. Gründer der Schule von Etampes; 1995 zum "Peintre de l´Armée de terre" (Maler der Erdarmee) und 2006 zum "Chevalier de la Légion d´honneur" (Ritter der Ehrenlegion) ernannt.

Das mystische Radioteleskop
Eine halbrunde Wand ragt aus dem Boden heraus. In diese parabolförmige Fläche wird das Bild "Epiphanie" eingeprägt und erscheint als großes Plakat. "Epiphanie" gleichsam als Wandreklame. Dank des angewandten werbetechnischen Mittels wird die Fortdauer und Eindringlichkeit der Botschaft garantiert. Wir können das Wandbild als Advent verstehen; sozusagen eine fortdauernde Werbekampagne für die immerwährenden Wahlentscheide.
Auf der Rückseite des Parabols werden Gebete, die die Liturgie der Menschheit darstellen, eingraviert.
Es werden somit drei zeitgemäße Wirkweisen genutzt:
Die Werbung - der Transport - die Informatik.
In der Form eines Werbeplakates - von Bodeninschriften - und Lichteffekten.

Epiphanie, über dem Bodenniveau, ist für den Betrachter über drei Stufen erreichbar: nämlich über die Menschenwürde, die Freiheit und die Wahrheit, vergleichbar mit der Pilgerreise der Heiligen drei Könige.

Der Standort
Das "Denkmal zur Gewissens- und Religionsfreiheit als Grundlage des Friedens" wurde auf dem Platz vor dem Badener Tor des Stift Heiligenkreuz im Wienerwald (Niederösterreich) errichtet. Stift Heiligenkreuz wurde 1133 vom Heiligen Leopold gegründet und ist eine lebendige Zisterzienserabtei. Das Stift erregte 2007 aufgrund des Papstbesuchs sowie wegen des Besuchs von Oscar-Gewinner Florian Henckel von Donnersmarck, reges Interesse der Medien. 2008 stürmte es mit seinem Gregorianischen Choral "CHANT" international die Charts.

Ex Umbris et imaginibus in Veritatem "Aus Schatten und Bildern zur Wahrheit." - zitiert von der Grabplatte von John Henry Newman (1801 bis 1890)
Am Sonntag, den 04. Oktober 2009 wurde das Denkmal beim Stift Heiligenkreuz (Niederösterreich) gesegnet. Nach der Segnung wurden die Festgäste durch Mag. Prinz Gundakar von und zu Liechtenstein, Weihbischof Dr. Andreas Laun und Abt Dipl.-Kfm. Gregor Ulrich Henckel Donnersmarck zu einem Vortrag mit anschließender Diskussion geladen.


Bildergalerie